Accreditation Standards

What are the Accreditation Standards?
The Accreditation Standards are detailed in the Quality of Care Principles 1997. There are four Standards:

Standard one: Management systems, staffing and organisational development
Standard two: Health and personal care
Standard three: Resident lifestyle
Standard four: Physical environment and safe systems


Each Standard consists of a principle and a number of expected outcomes. Standard one also has an ‘intention’ which indicates it acts as the umbrella for the other three Standards.

There are 44 expected outcomes across the four Standards. Homes must comply with all 44 expected outcomes at all times.