Board of Directors


Dr Andrew Refshauge, Chairman

Dr Andrew Refshauge, Chair

Current appointments:
- Chair, Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
- Chair, Careflight (NSW)
- Chair, Investment Committee of the NSW Aboriginal Land Council.

Previous appointments:
- Director, Neuroscience Research Australia
- Member, Foundation for Research and Treatment of Alcoholism and Drug Dependence
- Director, Family Care Medical Services
- Member, Evatt Foundation
- Member, Mandela Foundation
- Deputy Premier, NSW
- Minister for Health, NSW
- Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, NSW
- Treasurer, NSW
- Medical Officer, Aboriginal Medical Services, Redfern, NSW.


Venessa Curnow

Ms Venessa Curnow

Current appointments:
- Director, National Board, National Congress of Australia's First Peoples
- Member, National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Dementia Advisory Group
- Member, Steering Committee Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Rural and Remote Aged Care Training Queensland
- Member, Queensland Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nurse and Midwifery Leadership Advisory Group.

Previous appointments:
- National Aboriginal and Torres Islander Liaison Officer, Alzheimer's Australia
- Training and Resource Officer for Indigenous Aged Care Services, Aged Care Queensland Inc
- Member, Dementia Clinical Knowledge Network Steering Committee Queensland Health.


Mrs Karen Frost FCPA

Mrs Karen Frost FCPA

Current appointments:
- Executive Officer, Independent Living Centre (Tasmania) Inc
- Honorary Auditor, Launceston Historical Society Inc
- Board Member, Arthritis Tasmania Inc
- Company Secretary and Treasurer, Australasian Disability Professionals Ltd.

Previous appointments:
- Credit and Commercial Manager, Boral Construction Materials
- Financial Controller and Office Manager, Masonic Peace Memorial Haven of Northern Tasmania Inc (18 years)
- Cost Accountant, ACL Bearing Company
- President, CPA Australia Tasmanian division for 2010
- Divisional Councillor, CPA Australia Tasmanian division
- Treasurer, ARAFMI Tasmania Inc
- Board member, Richmond Fellowship Tasmania Inc.


Dr June Heinrich AM

Mrs June Heinrich AM

Current appointments:
- Chief Executive Officer, Macquarie Community College
- Chairman, Strategic Advisory Council, Aged Care Channel
- Member, Central Coast Local Health District Board
- Member, NSW Home Care Advisory Board
- Consultant, University of Western Sydney.

Previous appointments:
- Chief Executive Officer, Baptist Community Services – NSW and ACT
- Chairman, Baptist Care Australia
- Director, St Vincents de Paul Society
- Member, Aged Care Services Ltd
- President, Baptist Churches of NSW & ACT.
BA (Hons)  MSc DEduc  Centenary Medal

Professor Barbara Horner

Professor Barbara Horner

Current appointments:
- Founder and Director, Centre for Research on Ageing, Curtin Health Innovation Research Institute, Curtin University
- Director, WA Dementia Training Study Centre, Curtin University
- Director, Rosewood Care Group Inc
- Member, Australasian Association of Gerontology (AAG)
- Fellow, Australian Council of Health Services Managers (ACHSM)
- Member Expert Panel, Aged Care Management Journal
- Member Advisory Board, Australian Journal of Dementia Care.

Previous appointments:
- Dean, Research and Graduate Studies, Faculty of Health Sciences Curtin University
- Clinical Director, Curtin Health Innovation Research Institute, Curtin University
- Member, National Prescribing Service (NPS) Curriculum and Training Working Group
- Member, Curtin University School of Nursing Curriculum Committee
- President WA Chapter, Royal College of Nursing Australia.


Dr Helen Marie McGowan

Dr Helen McGowan

Current appointments:
- Clinical Director, Older Adult Mental Health Program, North Metro Health Service
- DoHA Psychogeriatric Expert Reference Group
- WA Ministerial Aged Care Advisory Council
- Member WA Health Clinical Senate
- RANZCP, Faculty of Psychiatry of Old Age, Member of Binational Committee.

Previous appointments:
- Faculty of Psychiatry of Old Age, Chair WA branch 
- Chair, WA Health, Older Adult Mental Health Planning and Advisory Committee.

BSC,  PhD,  MBBS,  FRANZCP, Cert. Advanced Training FPOA

Dr Mike Rungie

Dr Mike Rungie

Current appointments:
- Chief Executive Officer, ACH Group
- Director, Aged and Community Services SA/NT
- Member, Expert Panel - Nursing Home for the Ministry of Health, Singapore 
- Member, Alzheimer's Australia Quality Dementia Care Network.

Previous appointments:
- Member, Monarch Board
- Member, Insite Editorial Advisory Board
- Member, Minister's Ageing Consultative Committee
- Member, Consumer Directed Care Working Group
- Member, Central Northern Adelaide Health Services Board
- Member, North Eastern Community Nursing Home Board
- Member, Prime Minister's Australia 2020 Summit
- Member, Study Group on Teaching Nursing Homes Norway and Holland
Member, Management Committee of Australasian Journal on Ageing.

BSc (Hons)  PhD  The Executive Connection Centenary Medal  National Acsa Award for Excellence (2010)  Churchill Fellowship

Ian Yates AM

Mr Ian Yates AM

Current appointments:
- Chief Executive Officer, COTA Australia (Council of the Ageing)
- Director and Secretary, COTA Member Services Pty Ltd
- Director, COTA Insurance Ltd
- Member, Aged Care Financing Authority
- Deputy Chancellor, Flinders University
- Board Member, Aged Rights Advocacy Service
- Member, Consumer Advisory Panel, Australian Securities and Investments Commission
- Member, Consumer Consultative Committee, Australian Competition and Consumer Commission
- Sponsor Member, National Aged Care Alliance.

Previous appointments:
- Chief Executive, COTA  South Australia
- Member, SA Government Health Performance Council
- Member, Minister's Ageing Consultative Committee
- Chairman, Cancer Council SA
- Deputy Chair, Repatriation General Hospital, SA
- Director, Southern Adelaide Health Service
- Member, Consumer Advisory Committee, Australian Energy Regulator.